Election Disappointment

14 Nov

The election is over. (Thank God)

I was the tenth voter in my precinct.  This is the first time I’ve ever had to stand in line to vote, and I’ve voted every year since I was eligible to vote … a good many years.  Sometimes I got my vote back; sometimes I didn’t.  Sometimes I voted for the lesser of two evils.  Once I voted for a candidate who had died, but I believed he was the best candidate for the office.  Regardless of who won that individual was my elected official. I could call on them if I needed something from local, state, or the federal government.  To my knowledge, they don’t check to see if I voted for them or whether I share party affiliation or anything.  I’ve always received a response.  (There have been a couple of times that I received a responsive phone call which truly amazed me.)

As I looked over the ballot for the November 8, 2016, election, I was disappointed.  Twenty-one offices and two tax levies appeared on the ballot; five computer screens in contemporary parlance.  Only one-third of the offices had more than one candidate.

 

wood-county-ballot-2016

Is it apathy that only one person sought that elected office?  Perhaps we ought to encourage more people to throw their hat in the ring.

Perhaps if only two candidates express an interest in a position, even if from the same political party, the decision ought to be made at the general election instead of during a closed primary.

Perhaps term limits ought to apply to all elected offices.  An elected office isn’t an entitlement.

Just Think About It!

Leave a Reply

